19
Sep
12

The multiple jumps of a coach

Manuel Guilarte Davet, the most outstanding coach at the Cuban 2012 National School Games has reached two Pan-American records in long, triple and high jump, and  was also medalist in several national events during his life as an athlete. I bring to my blog some of his points on his work as a coach.

How do you train your athletes in a technical view point?

It is easier for me. You know I was an athlete and my previous knowledge on specifications leads me to do a better and more detailed work.  Jumps are very technical and I make emphasis in every detail, especially in the general preparation. I step by step increase the technical elements to later reach the special stage, which requires less work and effort.

You practice the principle that an athlete needs no dumbbell while training. Why?

This is my personal criteria concerning the use of dumbbells. In this age, children between 13 and 14 years do not need to use them. There are lots of coaches, including those from other provinces, who consider indispensable the use of that implement and without them athletes won´t t jump longer or higher. We have worked without them for years and here are the results, including two Pan-American record in a school game and  children jump over 14 meters.

So without dumbbells athletes have got better results …

If we make a comparison with the five years I have been working without dumbbells and the previous five years, I will say yes.  Jumpers´ results have been more relevant in the last period. I think the use of this implement in this age is wrong, because the kid´s bones in this age is not strong enough and this can cause many injuries to the hip,  the back bone, adding the difficulty in performing a given exercise, which  at the end makes the athlete´s life shorter . In my opinion dumbbells should be used at 17.

Look, it is not the same thing achieving a result out of your own effort and speed than trying to impose on you a result by the use of an artificial device. Later, many of these athletes will rely on these implements and won´t run or jump without them.

Besides your results at the recent School Games What other triumphs confirm your prestige as a coach?

After my work in Venezuela, I have won medals in triple jump in all school games I have participated in Cuba. These period comprises the time I´m not using dumbbells. Ernesto Revé, for example was Pan American record holder with 15, 22 m. I have other national champions like Franklin with 14.47m in triple jump, and 6.84 in long jump. Before them there was Marlin Avila with almost 6 m, Yipsy Potrillé and Daimary Correa jumping over 12.40, among others.

What do you think Cuban athletics should improve having into consideration the results in the recent Olympic Games?

In my opinion in this Olympic Cycle Cuban athletes only prepared for competing in the Pan American games and of course, they did their best in that event. After those games it was necessary to carry out another preparation cycle or maybe that one scheduled for the summer games were not sufficient, so many top athletes did not get their marks for the event. And considering the contemporary system in sports, athletes must be trained during the whole year. It is necessary to avoid taking athletes injured to a high-level competition like the Olympics, and some of them went there with those problems that had to be evaluated before the competition.

Cuban athletics needs special attention.  And I say this because the Sports high performance Schools in the country lack of many resources for the training. The result of the Olympic Games is obvious because no one can make a miracle in an event where all competitors train and prepare with all the necessary implements, resources that we don´t have.

Another point is the insufficient participation in international tournaments, which will give the Cuban sport authorities a better view on the sports international level and thus, propose new strategies for The Cuban athletes´ better performance.

Are you happy with what you have done until now?

I will never be really happy with what I do. This work is my life and I give my best for that. I enjoy training athletes, preparing them and creating all the technical conditions in them so that they become part of the national team. I still think I have other results to reach and I´d like to prove my abilities in another level, maybe satisfaction will come afterwards.

29 Responses to “The multiple jumps of a coach”


  1. septiembre 20, 2012 en 12:19 am

    Normally I do not read post on blogs, however I wish to say that this write-up very forced me to try and do it!
    Your writing taste has been amazed me. Thanks, very nice post.

  2. septiembre 20, 2012 en 1:24 am

    It’s a shame you don’t have a donate button! I’d without a doubt donate to this superb blog! I guess for now i’ll settle
    for bookmarking and adding your RSS feed to my Google account.
    I look forward to new updates and will share this site with my Facebook
    group. Chat soon!

  3. septiembre 20, 2012 en 9:32 pm

    Hi! I’m at work surfing around your blog from my new iphone! Just wanted to say I love reading your blog and look forward to all your posts! Carry on the superb work!

  4. septiembre 21, 2012 en 5:53 am

    I love your blog.. very nice colors & theme. Did you make this
    website yourself or did you hire someone to do it for you?
    Plz respond as I’m looking to construct my own blog and would like to know where u got this from. thank you

    • septiembre 21, 2012 en 4:17 pm

      Hi there, concerning my blog design, I ´d say it was a team´s work. I had the idea, the colors and images. we here have a web master who made the rest. I specially like design so maybe that´s the point for the color combinations and placing of images. I hope this respond to question.

  5. septiembre 24, 2012 en 1:35 am

    Hi, I want to subscribe for this blog to get most
    up-to-date updates, therefore where can i do it please assist.

  6. septiembre 26, 2012 en 4:42 am

    Hey There. I found your weblog the usage of msn. This is an extremely well written article.
    I will be sure to bookmark it and come back to read extra of your
    useful information. Thanks for the post. I will certainly return.

  7. septiembre 26, 2012 en 3:02 pm

    Quality content is the crucial to invite the visitors to pay a quick
    visit the web site, that’s what this web page is providing.

  8. septiembre 26, 2012 en 8:51 pm

    It’s an remarkable post in support of all the online users; they will obtain benefit from it I am sure.

  9. septiembre 28, 2012 en 12:21 am

    Greetings! Very helpful advice within this article! It is the little changes
    which will make the largest changes. Thanks a
    lot for sharing!

  10. septiembre 28, 2012 en 4:27 am

    Please let me know if you’re looking for a writer for your blog. You have some really great posts and I believe I would be a good asset. If you ever want to take some of the load off, I’d really like
    to write some material for your blog in exchange for a link back to mine.
    Please shoot me an email if interested. Thank you!

  11. septiembre 28, 2012 en 5:54 am

    It’s in point of fact a great and helpful piece of information. I am satisfied that you just shared this helpful info with us. Please keep us informed like this. Thank you for sharing.

  12. septiembre 28, 2012 en 1:16 pm

    What i don’t understood is actually how you’re not really much more well-liked
    than you might be now. You’re so intelligent. You realize thus significantly relating to this subject, produced me personally consider it from so many varied angles. Its like men and women aren’t fascinated unless it is one thing to do with
    Lady gaga! Your own stuffs nice. Always maintain it up!

  13. septiembre 29, 2012 en 3:17 am

    Fabulous, what a webpage it is! This website presents helpful facts to us,
    keep it up.

  14. septiembre 29, 2012 en 10:24 am

    I have to thank you for the efforts you’ve put in penning this site. I really hope to view the same high-grade blog posts by you in the future as well. In fact, your creative writing abilities has encouraged me to get my own, personal website now 😉

  15. septiembre 30, 2012 en 3:11 am

    Everything is very open with a very clear explanation of
    the challenges. It was definitely informative. Your site is extremely helpful.

    Many thanks for sharing!

  16. octubre 1, 2012 en 12:37 am

    I don’t even know the way I stopped up here, however I thought this put up used to be great. I don’t recognise who you’re but definitely you’re going to a well-known blogger for those who aren’t already. Cheers!

  17. octubre 1, 2012 en 3:58 pm

    It’s an amazing piece of writing for all the internet visitors; they will get benefit from it I am sure.

  18. octubre 3, 2012 en 3:29 pm

    I visited several websites except the audio quality for audio songs existing at this
    web page is genuinely superb.

  19. octubre 3, 2012 en 5:26 pm

    Hello, I enjoy reading through your article.
    I like to write a little comment to support you.

  20. octubre 3, 2012 en 7:53 pm

    Greate article. Keep writing such kind of info on your page.

    Im really impressed by your site.
    Hi there, You have performed a great job. I’ll certainly digg it and for my part suggest to my friends. I’m confident they will be benefited from this web site.

  21. octubre 5, 2012 en 5:20 am

    Heya i am for the primary time here. I came across this board and I to find It truly helpful & it
    helped me out much. I hope to present one thing again and aid others like you helped me.

  22. octubre 5, 2012 en 6:32 am

    Spot on with this write-up, I seriously think this amazing site needs a lot more
    attention. I’ll probably be back again to read more, thanks for the info!

  23. octubre 7, 2012 en 10:33 pm

    Wonderful, what a blog it is! This webpage gives valuable information to us, keep it up.

  24. octubre 8, 2012 en 5:01 am

    Pretty section of content. I just stumbled upon
    your web site and in accession capital to assert that I acquire in fact enjoyed account your blog posts.

    Any way I will be subscribing to your augment and even I achievement you access consistently rapidly.

  25. octubre 8, 2012 en 12:11 pm

    Hello, just wanted to say, I liked this blog post. It
    was inspiring. Keep on posting!

  26. octubre 10, 2012 en 8:18 pm

    It’s not my first time to visit this site, i am browsing this web page dailly and take fastidious facts from here all the time.

  27. octubre 11, 2012 en 4:41 am

    Hey! This is kind of off topic but I need some help from an established blog.
    Is it tough to set up your own blog? I’m not very techincal but I can figure things out pretty fast. I’m thinking about making my own but I’m not sure where to start. Do you have any ideas or suggestions? With thanks


Responder

